Pencil Sketch – Decaying Pepper

GemmaSchiebeFineArt

I have been drawing mouldy foods in my spare time, to improve my drawing skill and to keep myself in touch with what decay can look like.Below is a drawing of a decaying pepper that I drew with a mechanical pencil. I really focussed on tone and shading to capture the essence of decay and used line workto show the wrinkles that were developing in the skin of the vegetable. I feel this drawing is one of my most successful as you can see all the parts that are decaying away clearly and the tonal shading and depth gives it a three-dimensional element.

IMG_0447

This is benefitting my work as it is like life drawingfor a figurative project. I am really looking at the object with my eyes and capturing it down on paper. Here I am drawing from life but with a more expressive angle and unusual…

View original post 2 more words

Post a comment:

